Alfred Vidaurri Elected NCARB Second Vice President

Thumbnail for Alfred Vidaurri Elected NCARB Second Vice President.

Alfred Vidaurri Jr., NCARB, FAIA, AICP, a Freese and Nichols vice president, was elected second vice president of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) at the organization’s Centennial Annual Business Meeting in Washington, D.C.

A longtime leader in NCARB, Vidaurri has held several Board of Directors offices, including treasurer, secretary and director of the Southern Conference (Region 3), which encompasses Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Vidaurri, a registered architect, interior designer and certified planner, is licensed in Texas, Georgia, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Florida. He is certified by the American Institute of Certified Planners, is a LEED® Accredited Professional BD+C and is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. He has worked with Freese and Nichols for more than 25 years.

Vidaurri’s involvement in advancing the profession includes serving on the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners from 2004-2015, including as chair from 2009-2015 and vice chair from 2006-2008. He also chaired Region 3 from 2014-2015 and was vice chair from 2011-2012.

He has served on numerous NCARB committees, including Audit, Broadly Experienced Architect (BEA), Education, Examination, Procedures and Documents, and Regional Leadership, and he chaired the Education and BEA committees. He also oversaw creation of a pilot program for the Tri-National Agreement, which facilitates reciprocal licensure among the United States, Canada and Mexico. He served on NCARB’s Ethics Task Force and represented NCARB on several National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) visiting teams and at the NAAB Architectural Review Conference.

Vidaurri graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington’s Master of Architecture program. In addition to AIA and AICP, he belongs to the U.S. Green Building CouncilSociety for College and University PlanningTexas Society of Architects and AIA Fort Worth. He received the NCARB President’s Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014.​