Dorothy Bergesen Continues Texas APWA Leadership Tradition

Dorothy Bergesen (center), Texas APWA Chapter President, displays the chapter’s banner, joined by APWA National President Bill Spearman and Texas Chapter Immediate Past President Eric Dargan from the City of Houston

As the new president of the Texas Chapter of American Public Works AssociationDorothy Bergesen, continues a Freese and Nichols tradition of leadership in the organization. That history dates to 1947, when Freese and Nichols partners Marvin Nichols and Simon Freese were among the organizers of the Texas Chapter.

Just two years ago, Account Director Linda Huff in San Marcos served as Texas Chapter president, and she continues to advocate for APWA’s work in promoting professional excellence and focusing attention on the importance of public works in sustaining strong communities. Linda currently serves as the alternate for the Council of Chapters, a position that is a liaison between National APWA and the state chapter.

Dorothy’s involvement in APWA started when Alan Greer, Chief Business Development Officer – Infrastructure, recruited her for a local APWA committee in Houston to help prepare for that year’s state conference in Galveston. Twelve years later, having served as Southeast branch president and on the state chapter board — and receiving awards as a young leader — Dorothy is leading more than 1,600 members, the largest chapter in APWA’s nationwide network.

She said she’s eager to help educate young people about careers in public works and to help communities understand how public works and agencies serve them: Keeping their water running, their streetlights on, their cities operating when disaster strikes and much more.

APWA provides multiple opportunities for giving back through community and professional involvement. Other Freese and Nichols staff active in APWA’s Texas Chapter include Spencer Maxwell, Transportation Design, co-chair of the Awards Committee; Rich Heine, PMCM Group Manager, co-chair of the Engineering/Technology Committee; and Selina Brandon, Water Resource Design, co-chair of the Young Professionals Committee.

Liz Palasota, Transportation Design, and Rosa Valdez, Treatment, Transmission & Utilities, are trustees of the Texas South Central Branch. Liz also is South Central’s immediate past president. And Karen Perez, Water/Wastewater/Stormwater Engineer is treasurer for the Paso del Norte Branch.

Freese and Nichols also provides leaders for the Oklahoma Chapter of APWA: Keith Beatty, a Project Manager and Lead Engineer, is president-elect of the chapter, and Brandon Huxford, Engineer, is secretary and awards chair.

Read Dorothy’s first President’s Message in the Participant magazine.